Athletics & Recreation

19 DU hockey players honored as NCHC Academic All-Conference

The University of Denver had a total of 19 players honored as Academic All-Conference selections, including sophomore Gabe Levin, who was selected to the eight-member National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) Scholar-Athlete Team, conference officials announced Tuesday.

Joining Levin as Denver’s NCHC Academic All-Conference selections were Grant Arnold, Wade Bennett, Sam Brittain, Evan Cowley, Josiah Didier, Daniel Doremus, Brad Hawkinson, Larkin Jacobson, Evan Janssen, Zac Larraza, David Makowski, Matt Marcinew, Nick Neville, Greg Ogard, Emil Romig, Quentin Shore, Matt VanVoorhis and Nolan Zajac.

The NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team consists of one student-athlete from each of the eight NCHC institutions. Each school selected its recipient based on criteria that included having at least a 3.25 grade-point average and having competed in at least 25 percent of his team’s games in his career. Scholar-Athlete Team representatives also demonstrated athletic achievement on the ice and have given back to the community and/or the campus though service opportunities. To be eligible, a student-athlete must have completed a full year at his school.

The inaugural NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team includes five players who wear a letter, including four captains, while seven of the eight members have a GPA better than 3.6. Half of the team are seniors, while two sophomores and two juniors also make up the squad.

The inaugural NCHC Scholar-Athlete of the Year will then be chosen from the Scholar-Athlete Team, with the winner being announced at the NCHC Awards Celebration March 20 in Minneapolis.

Along with the eight student-athletes on the Scholar-Athlete Team, a total of 133 NCHC student-athletes received Academic All-Conference recognition for achieving a cumulative GPA above 3.0.

Read more about the Scholar-Athlete Team at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *