Athletics & Recreation

Bradley-Doppes named AstroTurf Athletic Director of the Year

University of Denver Athletics Vice Chancellor Peg Bradley-Doppes is one of 29 winners of the AstroTurf Athletic Director of the Year Award announced June 9 by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA).

One winner was selected in each of seven categories and four geographic regions. NACDA Executive Director Mike Cleary explains the award highlights the efforts of athletics directors for their commitment and positive contributions to campuses and their surrounding communities.

“The program brings to light the exceptional jobs done by athletics directors across the country,” says Cleary. “These 29 winners exemplify that, providing us with a group of outstanding athletics directors who excel at their jobs.”

Bradley-Doppes led the Pioneers athletics program to its finest season since turning NCAA Division I in 1998; the Pioneers sent a record 10 programs to NCAA Tournament competition in 2007–08. Highlights included the school’s 19th national championship in skiing and women’s golf’s sixth-place finish at the NCAA Championships.

DU added two individual national championships and claimed six conference championships under Bradley-Doppes’ guidance. Eight individuals earned Coach of the Year accolades for the Pioneers, which is 38th in the Division I U.S. Sports Academy Directors’ Cup Standings.

All NACDA-member directors of athletics in the U.S., Canada and Mexico who met the criteria were eligible for the award. Among the criteria were service as an AD for a minimum of five academic years; demonstration of commitment to higher education and student-athletes; continuous teamwork, loyalty and excellence; and the ability to inspire individuals or groups to high levels of accomplishments.

Additionally, each AD’s institution must have passed a compliance check through its appropriate governing body, in which the institution could not have been on probation or cited for a lack of institutional control within the last five years during the tenure of the current athletics director.

Winners will receive their awards during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon at NACDA’s 43rd Annual Convention at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas.

Comments are closed.