Athletics & Recreation / Magazine Feature

DU skiers receive individual accolades

Lindsay Cone

Alpine skier Lindsay Cone helped lead the Pioneers to DU's 21st skiing national championship. Photo: Rich Clarkson & Associates

Senior Nordic skier Antje Maempel and sophomore alpine skiers Leif Kristian Haugen and Lindsay Cone were named collegiate skiers of the year by Ski Racing magazine.

Maempel, who won NCAA individual titles in classical and freestyle for the second consecutive year, was named women’s Nordic collegiate skier of the year, adding to a growing list of awards for the six-time NCAA All-American. Earlier this week, Maempel also won the women’s collegiate skier of the year award from Faster Skier for the second straight year, becoming the first repeat winner of the award. Maempel won nine of 12 races this season and finished second in the other three.

The winner of the 2010 NCAA individual title in men’s giant slalom, Haugen was named men’s collegiate alpine skier of the year. Haugen represented Norway at the Vancouver Olympic Games, finishing 28th in giant slalom. Although limited to six college races this season due to the Olympics, Haugen won three races and finished second in two others.

Cone won the women’s collegiate skier of the year award after finishing second in both slalom and giant slalom at the NCAA championships, earning All-American first team honors in both events. Cone finished on the podium in seven of 10 races this season.

Comments are closed.