Athletics & Recreation

Student-athletes honored at annual awards banquet

Senior hockey captain Sam Brittain was voted DU Male Athlete of the year and senior women’s soccer player Kristen Hamilton earned Female Athlete of the Year as the University of Denver held its 79th annual Student-Athlete Awards Banquet Monday night in Hamilton Gymnasium.

The celebration, which was organized and hosted by the DU Student-Athlete Advisory Council, honored each of Denver’s 17 NCAA Division I intercollegiate sports programs and also included awards for Pioneer Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year, Comeback Player of the Year, and Strength and Conditioning. The Gold Vest Award was given to an outstanding Pioneer team for excellence in community service, academics, spirit, leadership and athletic performance.

Brittain was named a First Team All-American and the NCHC Goalie of the Year. He became the first goalie to open the season with back-to-back shutouts in DU history and finished the season with a career-best five shutouts. He also finished the season among the nation’s leaders in goals-against average, save percentage, shutouts and minutes played.

Hamilton was named an NSCAA First Team All-American, a 2013 First Team All-Great Lakes Region selection, the 2013 Summit League Offensive Player of the Year and a 2013 MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist. She was also a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award, a First Team All-Summit League honoree and a Capitol One Academic All-American, as well as an NSCAA Scholar All-American. She broke DU’s all-time points record with 138 total career points, 22 points more than the previous record, and broke the all-time goals record with 51 career goals.

Freshman Trevor Moore from the men’s hockey team was honored as the Pioneer Sportsman after becoming the first freshman to lead the Pioneers in scoring since Tyler Bozak in 2008 with 32 points (14 goals, 18 assists). He led Denver on the season with a +15 rating and was named to the All-NCHC Rookie Team. He registered multiple points in eight games and notched four game winners.

Freshman Sylvia Nordskar from the women’s Nordic team was tabbed the Pioneer Sportswoman after being named the RMISA Female Nordic Skier of the Year. She finished second in the 5 KM Classic and third in the 15 KM Freestyle at the NCAA Championships, helping DU win its 22nd NCAA Championship, while earning First Team All-America honors each race. She also won four races and did not place below third during the collegiate season.

Senior Chris Udofia was named the Comeback Player of the Year. He was named the Summit League Defensive Player of the Year and to the All-Summit League First Team. He was named a two-time Summit League Player of the Week. He finished the season ranked first in The Summit League in blocked shots, second in assist-to-turnover ratio, third in assists and minutes played (34.3), fourth in steals, seventh in offensive rebounding (1.8), 11th in rebounding and field-goal percentage, and 13th in scoring.

Men’s soccer player Jordan Schweitzer and women’s lacrosse player Rachael McKinnon received strength and conditioning awards. The honors are based on test scores, improvement in strength and conditioning over their careers, and the ability to use strength and conditioning to improve their athletic ability.

Vice Chancellor for Athletics and Recreation Peg Bradley-Doppes presented the men’s soccer team with the Gold Vest Award, the highest honor bestowed by the department, based on superior community service, leadership, academic achievement, spirit and athletic performance. The men’s soccer team was as engaged in the stands cheering on its fellow Pioneers as it was participating in various community service initiatives throughout Denver.
2013-14 University of Denver Special Awards
Male Athlete of the Year, Sam Brittain, Hockey
Female Athlete of the Year, Kristen Hamilton, Women’s Soccer
Pioneer Sportsman of the Year, Trevor Moore, Hockey
Pioneer Sportswoman of the Year, Sylvia Nordskar, Women’s Nordic Skiing
Comeback Player of the Year, Chris Udofia, Men’s Basketball
Male Strength and Conditioning Award, Jordan Schweitzer, Men’s Soccer
Female Strength and Conditioning Award, Rachael McKinnon, Women’s Lacrosse

2013-14 Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Freshmen: Gred Ogard, men’s ice hockey, 3.88 and Nicole Cassou, women’s swimming, 4.0
Sophomores: Gabe Levin, men’s ice hockey, 3.96 and Silje Benum, women’s skiing, 3.85
Juniors: Larkin Jacobson, men’s ice hockey, 4.00 and Caitlin Higgins, women’s soccer, 3.92
Seniors: Ryan Holly, men’s swimming, 3.96 and Paige Tollefson, gymnastics, 3.97

2013-14 Team Most Valuable Players
Chris Udofia – Men’s Basketball
Paige Bradley – Women’s Basketball
Ole Ramsness – Men’s Golf
Tonje Daffinrud – Women’s Golf
Moriah Martin – Gymnastics
Sam Brittain – Hockey
Jeremy Noble – Men’s Lacrosse
Meredith Harris – Women’s Lacrosse
Pierre Guedon – Men’s Nordic Skiing
Sylvia Nordskar – Women’s Nordic Skiing
Trevor Philp – Men’s Alpine Skiing
Kristine Haugen – Women’s Alpine Skiing
Theodor Remman – Men’s Soccer
Kristen Hamilton – Women’s Soccer
Kyle Milberg and Dylan Bunch – Men’s Swimming and Diving
Samantha Corea – Women’s Swimming and Diving
Alex Clinkenbeard – Men’s Tennis
Maureen Slattery – Women’s Tennis
Colleen King – Volleyball

2013-14 Team Most Valuable Freshman
Alecia Espinoza – Women’s Basketball
Patrick Frodigh – Men’s Golf
Mariell Bruun – Women’s Golf
Leah Lomonte – Gymnastics
Trevor Moore – Hockey
Layne Voorhees – Women’s Lacrosse
Sebastian Brigović – Men’s Alpine Skiing
Moritz Madlener – Men’s Nordic Skiing
Sylvia Nordskar – Women’s Nordic Skiing
Sam Hamilton – Men’s Soccer
Cassidy Rey – Women’s Soccer
Scott Bergstrom – Men’s Swimming and Diving
Johanna Roas – Women’s Swimming and Diving
Diogo Rocha – Men’s Tennis
Maureen Slattery – Women’s Tennis
Nola Basey – Volleyball

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *