Athletics & Recreation

Tennis teams are No. 1 seeds for Sun Belt Conference Championships

For the first time in school history, the Pioneers men’s and women’s tennis teams are the No. 1 seeds for the Sun Belt Conference Men and Women’s Tennis Championships to be held April 18–20 in Monroe, La.

The Pioneer men are seeking their first title. The No. 45 DU men will face Western Kentucky in the quarterfinals April 18 at 2 p.m. MT, while the No. 28 DU women take on the winner of Middle Tennessee and UALR in the quarterfinals April 18 at 5:30 p.m. MT.

The Pioneer men finished a program-best second at the championships last season. They’re led by senior All-American Adam Holmstrom, who is ranked No. 18 in singles with a perfect 18-0 mark and ranked No. 3 in doubles with partner Niklas Persson. Holmstrom and Persson are unbeaten at 14-0 in doubles. Holmstrom recently earned his SBC record seventh player of the week honor.

Also competing for the Pioneers and head coach Danny Westerman at the championships will be Kalle Rosen, David Simson, Benny Althaus and Andrew Landwerlen. DU has won three of its last four matches and is 6-5 against ranked opponents.

Junior Mallory Voelker, ranked No. 65 in singles and No. 53 in doubles with partner Julia Bauregger, leads the DU women’s team. Voelker is 19-1 in singles and 13-4 with Bauregger in doubles.

Annette Aksdal, Ute Schnoy, Kyla Iwinski and Bhavani Tirumurti will also compete at the championships for DU and head coach Amy Jensen. DU is enjoying a four-match winning streak and is 7-2 against ranked opponents. The DU women claimed its lone SBC title and automatic NCAA berth in 2004.

The men and women’s championship matches will be Web streamed live on the Sun Belt Conference’s Web site

Comments are closed.