Academics and Research / Magazine Feature

2009 Faculty and Staff Convocation award recipients announced

This year’s Faculty and Staff Awards Convocation will take place on Friday, Oct. 2, in Magness Arena.

DU Chancellor Robert Coombe will deliver a speech at the annual luncheon addressing the state of the University. Additionally, notable faculty and staff members will receive recognition for their contributions to the University.

This year’s University Lecturer is mathematics professor Rick Ball. The award recognizes his creative contributions and scholarly work.

Andrei Kutateladze, professor of chemistry and biochemistry, will be named a John Evans Professor, the University’s highest faculty award.

The Distinguished Teaching Award will go to Shelly Smith-Acuña, associate professor in the Graduate School of Professional Psychology.

Psychology Professor Stephen Shirk’s achievements in professional scholarship have earned him the Distinguished Scholar Award.

John Kinnamon, professor of biological sciences, was selected for the United Methodist Church University Scholar/Teacher of the Year Award for his dedication and contribution to scholarship, the learning arts and DU.

The Ruth Murray Underhill Teaching Award, for excellence in teaching by an adjunct faculty member, will go to Margaret “Peg” Sanders of the Josef Korbel School of International Studies.

Gordon Von Stroh, a professor in the Daniels College of Business and the event’s longtime emcee, will receive the Faculty Service Award.

The Staff Advisory Council also will give several honors.

Theresa Hernandez, assistant director of Penrose Library, was selected for the Crimson and Gold Award. Don Oppliger, the director of labs in the mathematics department, will receive the Outstanding Service Award. Parking and Transportation Services was chosen as the Quality Department Award. Nicky Bruckhart, business manager for athletics and recreation, will receive the Outstanding Staff Advisory Council Member Award.

Comments are closed.