Academics and Research / Magazine Feature

DU announces changes to communication programs

The University of Denver is re-aligning a part of its Divisions of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences in an effort to provide greater choices to communications students.

The new arrangement — approved by the DU Board of Trustees — dissolves the School of Communication as an academic and administrative unit. The school’s departments have been re-named the Department of Communication Studies and the Department of Media, Film and Journalism Studies. Four new majors also were created.

“I’m very pleased that these thoughtful changes to the communication program at DU will result in greater options for our students,” says Anne McCall, AHSS dean.

The Department of Communication Studies will feature a single major with three emphases, including culture and communication, interpersonal and family communication, and rhetoric and communication ethics. The department will continue to offer master’s and PhD degrees in communication studies.

The Department of Media, Film and Journalism Studies will offer three new majors, including strategic communication, media studies, and film studies and production. The department will keep its journalism studies program, its graduate programs and its relationship with the School of Art and Art History for its digital media studies program.

“I congratulate the communication faculty and staff who have proactively developed new offerings to better prepare our students for success in the communications field at a time when that industry in experiencing a revolution in technology and strategy,” McCall says.

Current communication students can finish the degree they started or opt into one of the new majors. Informational meetings for students began Jan. 20. Contact Chris Henning at 303-871-3976 for further details.

Comments are closed.