Campus & Community / Magazine Feature

AUSA Senate president elected

Junior Monica Kumar and sophomore Antoine Perretta were voted DU’s AUSA Senate president and vice president, respectively, for the 2008–09 school year. The results were announced May 7 after students voted Monday–Wednesday online.

Kumar, a finance and marketing major, is currently the director of marketing and records in the AUSA Senate. She was previously a Daniel’s College of Business senator, first-year senator and president of the University of Denver Programs Board (DUPB).

Perreta, a Hotel, Restaurant and Tourism Management major, is a current junior senator and chair of the academic affairs committee in the AUSA Senate. He directed Homecoming for DUPB this past year and is a member of the Lambda Chi Alpha fraternity.

Both are members of the Pioneer Leadership Program and the University Honors Program.

“I am very pleased that the students believed in Monica and me and elected us,” Perretta says.

The pair’s platform addresses DU tradition by aiming to create a “chair of tradition” position in the AUSA Senate and working to create a new mascot and fight song. They say they will also focus on sustainability at DU by continuing to improve recycling, renewing the University’s wind energy contract and working with deans and department heads to push for a paperless campus.

Other senators elected were:
AHUM/SOCS senators: Mary Jean O’Malley and Tess Cromer
Daniels senators: Jason Lundberg and Jessica Hunter
NSME/SECS senators: Carlie Field and Matthew Johnson
On-campus senators: John Sutton and Melissa Aiken
Off-campus senators: John McMahon and Zoee Lynn Turill
Senior senators: Corey Danko and Nick Phelps
Junior senators: Javi Ogaz and Matt Dooley
Sophomore senators: Ericca McCutcheon and Kaitlyn Barclay

Two first-year senators will be elected during the fall quarter.

Comments are closed.