Campus & Community / Magazine Feature

Six faculty members receive top University honors

The Office of the Provost has announced the 2007–08 faculty award winners, who will be recognized at the University’s fall Convocation ceremony.

Michelle Meyer, an adjunct professor in the Daniels College of Business marketing program, has received the Ruth Murray Underhill Teaching Award in recognition of excellence in teaching by an adjunct faculty member.

The Distinguished Teaching Award goes to Susan Sadler, associate professor in the Department of Biological Sciences, and the Distinguished Scholar Award recipient is Micheline Ishay, a professor in the Graduate School of International Studies.

Psychology Professor Daniel McIntosh is the United Methodist Church University Scholar/Teacher of the Year. The award — sponsored by the Division of Higher Education, the Board of Higher Education and Ministry of the United Methodist Church — recognizes outstanding faculty members for their dedication and contribution to scholarship, to the learning arts and to the institution.

Jack Donnelly, a professor and director of the PhD program in the Graduate School of International Studies, is the University Lecturer. The award was first given in 1955 and is one of the University’s most distinguished honors. The University Lecturer is selected based solely upon creative contributions and scholarly work.

Graduate School of International Studies Professor Barry Hughes has been selected as a John Evans Professor. It is the highest award the University bestows on its faculty members. Hughes’ is one of the world’s foremost experts in dynamic modeling of global change. He heads the University’s Frederick S. Pardee Center for International Futures.

Comments are closed.