Sports preview 2013

Swimming and diving

On the men’s side, the Pioneers return 20 letter-winners from last season’s squad, which posted a fourth-place finish at the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Championships. Leading DU’s first season in the Summit League for head coach Brian Schrader is senior Kyle Milberg, who was recognized as the MPSF Swimmer of the Year in 2013. Joining Milberg are returnees Andrew Torres, Jeremiah Zgliczynski, Darian Brunetti and Tanner Krall, each of whom competed at the U.S. National Championships this summer.

Leading the charge for the women will be junior Samantha Corea, who set WAC and DU records last season in the 200 backstroke. Corea also was recognized as the WAC Swimmer of the Year in 2012–13 and is expected to be a major force in the pool again during the 2013–14 campaign.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *