Athletics & Recreation

Denver tennis wins big at Summit League Banquet

The University of Denver women’s and men’s tennis teams collectively received 17 Summit League honors at the annual conference tennis banquet Thursday in Denver.

In their inaugural year in the Summit League, Denver’s men finished 5-0 in conference play, while the women posted a 6-0 record. These perfect records garnered both teams Summit League Regular Season Champions titles.

Picking up individual awards for the men were Alex Clinkenbeard, Henry Craig, Alex Gasson, Yannik James, Diogo Rocha and Aidan Talcott.  All six Pioneers were honored as members of the Men’s All-League Team.

After posting a 5-0 record in Summit League play and being named Summit League Player of the Week three times, Rocha received the Newcomer of the Year Award. The No. 102-ranked Craig, who also had a perfect record in conference play and claimed Summit League Player of the Week three times, was named Player of the Year.

On the women’s side, seven Pioneers — Charlotte Derbyshire, Natalie Dunn, Kathryn Hughes, Sonja Radosevic, Caroline Schnell, Maureen Slattery and Evy Van Genechten — were recognized as members of the Women’s All-League Team.

The 2013–14 Summit League Tennis Championships begin Friday at 10 a.m. and continue through Sunday. The event is open to the public and admission is free at Gates Tennis Center in Denver.

Both Pioneer teams have earned a first-round bye. Denver’s women will face the winner of the IUPUI versus South Dakota match at 10 a.m. Saturday, and the men will play the winner of the IUPUI versus Western Illinois match at 2 p.m.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *