Athletics & Recreation / Magazine Feature

DU inducts 13th Athletic Hall of Fame class

The 1968-69 Pioneers hockey team, and five individuals, were inducted into the DU Athletics Hall of Fame in an Oct. 14 ceremony. Photo: Rich Clarkson & Associates

The 1968-69 NCAA championship hockey team and five individuals became the 13th class of the University of Denver Athletic Hall of Fame in an Oct. 14 ceremony at DU’s Ritchie Center.

The 1968–69 Pioneers, coached by Murray Armstrong, won the WCHA title and capped their 26-6 season with a 4-3 win over Cornell and legendary goaltender Ken Dryden for the NCAA championship.

Joining the hockey team in the hall of fame were Gordon Cooper, Lee Courkamp, Sara Fadenrecht, Carlene Petersen-Chrisman and Nancy Sampson.

With these additions, the hall of fame now includes 111 individuals and eight distinguished DU teams.

Cooper was a three-sport athlete who earned nine varsity letters in baseball, football, and track and field from 1949–51. He was named to the all-Skyline Conference football first team for three straight years from 1949–51. Cooper holds DU football career records for receptions (113), receiving yards (1,577) and receiving touchdowns (18), and season records for receptions (46), receiving yards (607) and receiving touchdowns (8).

Courkamp was a standout on the DU cross country and track & field teams from 1961–66. He earned six varsity letters and six all-conference honors during his four years at DU. Courkamp was named the Most Outstanding Cross Country and Track & Field Athlete from 1963–65. He holds 17 DU cross country and track & field records.

Fadenrecht is the only male or female Denver basketball player to amass over 1,800 points and 1,000 rebounds. The four-year letter winner and two-time All-Colorado Athletic First-Team member (1995–96) ranks first all-time in the Denver women’s basketball record book for rebounds (1,060); second in points (1,826) and free throws made (405); and third in scoring average (15.9), games (115) and 3-pointers made (131).

Petersen started the DU women’s tennis program and turned it into a regional and national power. DU won the Colorado Tennis Conference championship in 1976, and claimed the Intermountain Division II title and placed third at nationals in 1977. Under Petersen’s leadership, the Pioneers won the Colorado Tennis Conference title AIAW District II crown in 1978. Denver also placed eighth at nationals in 1982. Petersen was elected to the Colorado Tennis Hall of Fame in 2007.

Sampson has helped student-athletes succeed academically and professionally since joining the DU business faculty in 1972. She earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in business administration from DU in 1965 and 1966, respectively, and her PhD in business administration from Oklahoma in 1971. Since joining the DU faculty in 1972, Sampson has served on the Faculty Athletics Affairs Committee, the Trustees’ Faculty and Educational Affairs Committee, and has served as the Faculty Athletic Representative to the NCAA for the past 15 years. Sampson actively attends and supports every DU varsity sport.

The 1968­–69 hockey team included: Rich Blanche, Frank Daly, Allan Genovy, Tom Gilmore, Tim Gould, Ed Hamilton, Dan Helm, Gerry Jonasson, Terry Leifson, Keith Magnuson, Tom Miller, George Morrison, Craig Patrick, Bill Pettinger, Lynn Powis, Gerry Powers, John Saville, Don Thiessen, Bob Trembecky, Randy Ward, Dale Zeman, assistant coach Harry Ottenbreit, athletic trainer Gene Bradshaw and manager Tom Sampson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *