Athletics & Recreation

Hockey team places two on inaugural All-NCHC First Team

University of Denver hockey senior goalie Sam Brittain and junior defenseman Joey LaLeggia were named to the six-member National Collegiate Hockey Conference All-Conference First Team, and freshman Trevor Moore was honored as a member on the NCHC All-Rookie Team, conference officials announced Wednesday.

Denver was the only NCHC member to have two players named to the inaugural All-NCHC First Team as Brittain received a total of 39 points (13 first-place votes) and LaLeggia garnered 30 points (10 first-place votes). Moore totaled 32 points and (10 first-place votes) in earning NCHC All-Rookie status.

In addition, senior defenseman David Makowski was selected as an honorable mention All-NCHC choice.

Brittain has posted four shutouts this season and ranks 13th nationally in goals against average and seventh in save percentage. In addition, Brittain has played the third highest minutes of any goalie nationally and has posted 30 or more saves in a total of 14 games this season – including five contests with 40 or more stops.

LaLeggia leads Denver’s defensive unit with 21 points on 10 goals and 11 assists, despite missing five games this season due to injury. The junior has posted five power play goals and one game winner. He currently ranks as the 17th highest-scoring defenseman nationally, with an average of 0.68 points per game.

Moore is the Pioneers’ leading scorer entering the postseason. He has tallied 28 points (12 goals, 16 assists) during his breakout rookie campaign. The forward has notched three power play goals and four game winners and has recorded multiple points in eight games this season. Moore currently sits 15th nationally and third in the NCHC among all rookies, with an average of 0.78 points per game.

Makowski, one of Denver’s tri-captains, registered 21 points (nine goals, 12 assists) over 36 games during the regular season. The senior also leads the team in blocked shots with 63.

Each NCHC head coach and one student-athlete from each school voted on the All-Conference and All-Rookie teams. Coaches and student-athletes voted for six forwards, four defensemen and two goaltenders for both All-Conference and All-Rookie voting, awarding first-place votes for six players (three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender) and second-place votes for the other six selections.

The NCHC will announce the finalists for its individual specialty awards today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *