Athletics & Recreation / Magazine Feature

Pioneers hockey team announces 2013-14 schedule

The University of Denver hockey team will play 36 games, including 18 regular-season home contests at Magness Arena, in its 2013-14 season. The team’s inaugural season in the newly formed National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) is also its first under new head coach Jim Montgomery, who replaces the departed George Gwozdecky.

The Pioneers advanced to their sixth consecutive NCAA Tournament last year and secured the 12th consecutive 20-win season in the program’s history.

“I am really excited about this season’s schedule. The nonconference portion is very competitive and will prepare us for the inaugural season of NCHC play,” Montgomery says. “We are really looking forward to opening play in the NCHC and are anxious to meet the challenges and competition it will present on a nightly basis.”

Denver’s schedule features 12 contests against foes that qualified for the 2013 NCAA Tournament, four games against in-state rival Colorado College and four against 2013 NCAA Frozen Four participant St. Cloud State.

DU will open the regular season against Merrimack in a two-game series at Magness Arena on Oct. 11-12. The Pioneers will drop the puck on the NCHC conference action for the first time on Nov. 1 when they host Nebraska Omaha.

The Pioneers’ nonconference slate is highlighted by a trip to the Alaska Fairbanks Tournament, where Denver will square off against Alaska (Oct. 18) and Anchorage (Oct. 19). Other games on the non-league slate include home games against NCAA qualifiers Niagara (Oct. 25) and Canisius (Oct. 26).

Denver will trek east for three games in December as the Pioneers take on RPI in a two-game set (Dec. 13-14) before heading to Amherst, Mass., to battle the University of Massachusetts (Dec. 17).

DU’s 18-game regular-season home schedule is headlined by two-game series against Nebraska Omaha (Nov. 1-Nov. 2), Colorado College (Nov. 9 and Feb. 21), Western Michigan (Nov. 15-16), St. Cloud State (Jan. 10-11), North Dakota (Jan. 24-25) and Miami (Ohio) (March 7-8).

The Pioneers also host single games against Air Force (Nov. 23) and Brown (Jan. 3) in non-league action.

Denver plays at Colorado College (Nov. 8 and Feb. 22), Air Force (Nov. 22), Miami (Ohio) (Dec. 6-7), Minnesota Duluth (Jan. 17-18), St. Cloud State (Feb. 7-8), Nebraska Omaha (Feb. 14-15) and Western Michigan (Feb. 28-March 1).

The Pioneers’ top returning scorer and 2013 All-WCHA selection Joey LaLeggia highlights the list of 15 returning letter-winners for 2013-14. Senior goaltender Sam Brittain and defenseman David Makowski also return for their final collegiate season.

Season tickets for the 2013-14 season are currently on sale; individual game tickets go on sale in early September. Visit for more information.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *