Athletics & Recreation / News

Pioneers to leave WCHA for new hockey league

Pioneers hockey team

The Pioneers will play in a new conference beginning in 2013.

The DU Pioneers hockey team will be leaving the Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) to join a new hockey conference, DU Athletics Director Peg Bradley-Doppes announced today in a joint statement with Colorado College Athletics Director Ken Ralph, Miami University Athletics Director Brad Bates, University of Minnesota Duluth Athletics Director Bob Nielson, University of Nebraska Omaha Athletics Director Trev Alberts, and University of North Dakota Athletics Director Brian Faison.

Six top NCAA Division I ice hockey programs will become founding members of a newly formed hockey conference, which will begin competition for the 2013—14 season. The six institutions are Colorado College, University of Denver, Miami University, University of Minnesota Duluth, University of Nebraska Omaha and University of North Dakota.

“Our programs look forward to continued associations with our current leagues, the WCHA and CCHA, for the next two seasons,” the statement said.

More information will be announced at a news conference in Colorado Springs on Wednesday, July 13.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *