Athletics & Recreation

Swimming and diving teams win Summit League Championship

The University of Denver swimming and diving teams claimed 10 event wins to clinch the Summit League Championship title in the final day of competition at IUPUI in Indianapolis on Saturday.

DU’s men won the title with 1018.5 points, while the women claimed the title with 1017.5 points. This is Denver’s fourth women’s swimming and diving conference win and its 38th men’s swimming and diving conference win. The Pioneers are in their inaugural year with the Summit League.

“I’m really proud of our teams and how we represented DU,” said head swim coach Brian Schrader. “It makes a season so much more meaningful to close with a championship. It gives everyone a role and a focal point. Our seniors were outstanding this weekend, and I am excited that our season isn’t over and we will be represented at men’s and women’s NCAAs.”

Denver got off to a good start, sweeping the women’s and men’s 1650 free. Clara Jenck claimed the top spot for the women in 16:39.40. Coming in second and third were Tyra Rooney and Jaclyn Best. For the men’s squad, Dylan Bunch came in first, breaking a Summit League record in 14:59.58.  Jeremiah Zgliczynski and Matt Absher came in behind Bunch.

The Pioneers again swam to the top three spots in the men’s and women’s 200 back. Senior Kyle Milberg claimed the fastest time for the men in 1:43.84. The second and third places went to Willy Van Dehy and Darian Brunetti. On the women’s side, Samantha Corea came in first and broke a Summit League record in 1:52.81, while Bridgette McNally came in second and Gretchen Cohen came in third.

In the 100 free event, Drew Matthews and Kyle Robrock touched the walls quickest. On the women’s side, Matthews’ time of 49.73 set a new Summit League record, while Robrock claimed the top spot for the men. Coming in right behind Matthews was Johanna Roas.

Denver’s men came in one-two in the 200 breast. Senior Tanner Krall broke a Summit League record, and Tim Cottam followed with a time of 2:00.21.

The DU men also claimed the top two spots in the 200 fly. Andrew Torres came in first and Scott Bergstrom swam a close second.

Closing out the day on a high note, both Denver’s men and women took first in the 400 free relay. Corea, Roas, Morgan Mullenix and Matthews collected first place and a Summit League record. The men’s team of Patrick Guillory, Robrock, Doug Mackenzie and Milberg posted the top time of 3:00.36.

In diving, Dana Gau came away with the best score of the day. Garnering 270.15 points, the junior placed second in the 3-meter dive.

Winning special awards for Denver were Corea, Milberg, Jenck and Bergstrom. Corea and Milberg were named Swimmer of the Championship, while Jenck and Bergstrom received newcomer awards. These are the third conference honors Corea and Milberg have collected in their college careers.

“Kudos to Scott Bergstrom and Clara Jenck for their Summit League Newcomer awards,” Schrader said. “I cannot begin to express how much Sam Corea and Kyle Milberg deserve their Swimmer of the Championship honors. And, a special nod to Dylan Bunch for his outstanding wins and swims this weekend and new Summit League record.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *